jump to navigation

Chess November 26, 2006

Posted by marvinx in Science and Technology.
trackback

Some people have too much time on their hands. I happen to be one of them. I enjoy having an almost entirely flexible schedule. And don’t make fun of me for it; I know you guys are jealous.

The question becomes, though: what do I do with my free time? The answer is not much. Usually. On rare occasions, though, I become bored enough to try something ambitious. This is always some sort of programming project, and generally it’s small or stupid, like writing an invincible tic-tac-toe program. It usually doesn’t go very far. But sometimes something worthwhile comes out of this. Like a program that lets you play chess with other people over the internet.

The url is http://lab.marvinxart.com/chess. It’s the second version; the first really sucked so I started from scratch. Granted, there are a few flaws: the game pieces look like crap, for one. Also, it is possible to trick the program and thus cheat (but it’s hard to figure out how). Occasionally it will screw up the display of your available moves. But all in all it works, and I’m proud of it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

